Some 350 FPA members and their guests enjoyed a splendid evening at The Grand Hotel Brighton on 5 March. Celebrity guest Patrick Monahan proved an excellent host and entertainer, along with the superb singing waiters and waitress, whilst the winners justly celebrated their success.  The spirit of the event was reflected in the generosity of guests in supporting charity WasteAid in almost doubling what the FPA has raised so far.

Outgoing Chairman Howard Colliver was given a special award and thanked for his tireless and enthusiastic work for the FPA over the past five years.  New Chairman Mark Pawsey MP was welcomed to the FPA.

Sincere thanks were given to this year’s Award judges:

Laura Fernandez – Marks & Spencer
Nikki Grainge – Waitrose & Partners
Tony Corbin – Packaging News
Dick Searle – Packaging Federation
Helen McFarlane – McDonald’s Restaurants
Robin Clark – Just Eat

Paul Vanston – INCPEN
Ollie Rosevear – Costa Coffee
Paul Rhodes – Greggs
Paula Chin –  WWF
Derek Robertson
Simon Oxley – Pret A Manger



MANUFACTURER OF THE YEAR                              KeCo

Finalists:  Amipak and Huhtamaki UK

 NATIONAL DISTRIBUTOR                                         Bidfood

Finalists: Bunzl Catering Supplies, Tri-star Catering Supplies

 REGIONAL DISTRIBUTOR                                          Yate Supplies

Finalists: Sovereign Partners, Nivek Catering Supplies

FOODSERVICE CATERING OPERATOR                    Aramark

Highly Commended:  CH&Co, Baxter Storey

 FOODSERVICE RETAIL OPERATOR                          Greggs

Highly Commended: Pret, Leon

 FOOD & DRINK MANUFACTURER                          Greencore

Highly Commended: 2 Sisters, Samworth Brothers

 PRODUCT INNOVATION BACK OF HOUSE            Essity:  Tork Xpressnap Fit

PRODUCT INNOVATION FRONT OF HOUSE          Huhtamaki: Future Smart Duo Lid

Highly Commended: Smith Anderson Group:  Recyclable Foil SOS / Grab Bag for Home Delivery,
Klöckner Pentaplast: KP Infinity™, Nupik Flo: iPlastic 100% Recyclable & Biodegradable Tumblers,
Pactiv: SecuriteSmart

CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY                    Brakes: Br(e)aking Boundaries in CSR

Highly Commended:  Bidfood: Action Against Holiday Hunger

 SUSTAINABILITY                                                        Klöckner Pentaplast: One Year Anniversary of    Positive Plastics Pledge’

Highly Commended: Bunzl Catering Supplies ‘Sustainable Future Footprint Tool’

 DESIGN TEAM OF THE YEAR 2018                          Klöckner Pentaplast: KP Infinity

Highly Commended:  Rapid Action Packaging – Removing of Avoidable Plastic
Vegware – Design & Marketing Teams

 RISING STAR AWARD                                                Jack Lennox, Klöckner Pentaplast

 CHAIRMAN’s AWARD                                               Mark Byrne, Berry Global  


Note to editors: photos of the evening and the winners are available on request

 March 2020

Issued on behalf of the Foodservice Packaging Association by Leapfrog PR. Editorial contact is or call 01242 282000 or mobile 07887 608353